Feminism, Humanistic Psychology, Uncategorized, Violence, Women

I Walk

I walk with you because I am that woman who felt the burning pain of a slap, the punch of oppression, and the embarrassment of being pushed while others laughed, or looked away nervously because” I had it coming” for daring to question the unfairness of patriarchy.

I walk with you because I am that woman who had a gun held to her because I dared to stand up against a controlling man that should have never been allowed to possess a firearm.

I walk with you because I am that woman who knows what it is like for others to discount your pain, blame you, and make excuses for a man’s violence.

I walk with you because I am that woman who held my silence of unwanted sexual advances, sexual harassment, and sexually being groped because I did not want to be the “bitch that brought it upon “herself”.

I walk with you because I am that woman who knows what it is like not to have health insurance and wondering whether to buy food or go to the doctor.

I walk with you because I am that woman who knows what it is like to be a young divorced mother raising a child financially and emotionally on her own.

I walk with you because I am that woman who knows what it is like to have love for another that is not seen as acceptable by the masses.

I walk with you because I am that woman who knows the beauty and love of others that may not look or believe like me.

I walk with you because I am that woman who has been called a “ crazy bitch” for being strong and motivated.

I walk with you because I am that woman who has been paid less than my male counterparts although they had less education and less experience than me.

I walk with you because I am that woman who has dared to empower her daughters to have an opinion, to have a dream, and to not let their gender determine their outcomes in life.

I walk with you because I am that woman who believes that it is better to build other sisters up worldwide than tear them down and scoff at them for breaking socially gendered boundaries.

I walk with you because I am that woman who believes that patriarchy is not only detrimental to women, but it hurts men as well.

I walk with you because I am that woman who believes women should have the choice to make their way through the world with their hair covered or uncovered and not fear for their safety.

I walk with you because I am that woman who supports other women who forge careers into unchartered territories, but also supports the women and men who decide to stay at home with their children.

I walk with you because I am that women who has seen the results of bringing children into the world that were not wanted.

I walk with you because I am that woman who believes in a higher power, but also know I was giving the ability to think, reason, and communicate that serves a purpose beyond myself.

I walk with you because I am that woman who does not see a world that is black and white, right and wrong, but a spectrum in between that tells the story of each individual.

I walk with you because I am that woman who know others may not support my beliefs, but they do not have the right to dictate my choices. My choices are between God and myself.

I walk with you because I am that woman who knows each of us has our personal path, but we can support each other in the walk.

I walk.

Standard

4 thoughts on “I Walk

  1. All these seem so realistic and practically implemented outcast Taboos…

    Humanity has yet to evolve, to understand that its not okay to blame one side of our Human phylum and keep feeling its less than the other half….

    Amazing and well written….. Bravo…!

    Like

      • Well, value of candle is emphasized and influenced by dark, if there is no dark, you won’t see a reason to lit the candle during sunlight.

        The thing is, we all at some point in life go through crises, humans are an ignorant creature, they have ability to forget things and they “move-on” (I never understood this concept of moving on, I consider it hypocrisy… but any ways) and the things humans forget, they also develop a sense that those things never happened, consequently relieving themselves of the fact that the things they have “moved on” from, might have affected someone’s life tremendously.

        And Still, those who think have plenty to think about and those who forget have nothing to worry about….

        *Peace

        Like

Leave a Reply

